As the US election begins tomorrow, racism in the US has become a hot topic on our blog. The YouTube post of Ohioans voicing their concerns about an Obama win reminded me of a show I saw a few years ago about an African American named Daryl Davis who infiltrated the Ku Klux Klan and convinced 20 members to leave the Klan. Ohio, and the world, needs more people like Daryl Davis.

“When I would interact with these people, oftentimes I would know more about their own culture than they would know themselves,” Davis said. “If you know what to expect, you have an advantage.”

Melting Pot or Mosaic? I think that human relations can be viewed as both. There are differences between cultures and ignorance and misunderstanding of these differences is the root of racism. Understanding and appreciating the differences is the best weapon we have against racism.

Check out Booker T and the MG’s “Melting Pot”

Digit

