-m.a

n817330500_1080665_4872

My boy Shane went to New York city in 90 or 91 with the acapella choir and came back with a Geto Boys tape and my life has never been the same. As you can see from the pic, I tried to replace DJ Ready Red, but it was at the time the Geto Boys were going through their own trouble, so they didn’t keep me. I was such a huge fan, I saw the Geto Boys when they had their own spin-off group called (drum roll please) The Baby Geto Boys with a white midget (who for some reason ran around stage with an albino snake around his neck.) About five years ago I saw Scarface on tour with Eric Sermon at some run down spot in Cleveland, Ohio around Christmas time. It’s rowdy in the 330. 

Anyway, Scarface has always been one of the most criminally underrated storytellers in this thing we all love called hip-hop. Going through some of his greatest hits on YouTube has made me waste about half my day and you know what? I feel better for and you should too. 

A Minute to Pray and a Second to Die

The Marvin Gaye sample starts it off quite nicely and the second verse is as brutal of a story as I’ve ever heard. Reminds me a lot of Biggie’s “Somebody Gotta Die.”

Never Seen a Man Cry

Scarface proved that you could be a sensitive gangster here. I love that ehh eww ehhh sound all the way through. If anyone knows what that is called, please comment and let me know.

Mary Jane

I only posted this because I love neon and this was right before this on his CD

Smile

The death of 2Pac was bigger to me than Kurt Cobain. I had that Rolling Stone cover on my wall for a good part of college and this song became a hit and 2Pac wasn’t even around to enjoy it. RIP. And the ending of this song is so good. And now, a moment of silence…

But don’t let me trick you into thinking that Scarface couldn’t make a party jam. Oh no

Let Me Roll

It’s official, I’m adding this into my sets for the rest of the year.

My Block

I’m making this wayyyy to long now, but if you like Scarface, other notable tracks: Street Life, Six Feet Under and Damn It Feels Good to be a Gangster

