So, during my search yesterday for six 6-artist posse cuts, I realized one thing…there are A LOT more 5-emcee posse cuts then there are six (the majority of which include Busta Rhymes).  I also realized that the West Coast generally don’t do posse cuts unless it includes EVERYONE from the west.

Anyways…since yesterday was so much fun, I thought I’d do it again.

Five Classic 5-Man Posse Cuts (in no particular order — and I’ve done my best not to include Busta in all of’em):

1.  A Tribe Called Quest – Scenario

Predictable?  Yes…but I had to.  A Tribe Called Quest…Leaders of the New School…you know the rest.

2.  Dungeon Family – Trans DF Express

One of the most ridiculous collections of talent the world has ever seen.  Somehow Outkast, Goodie Mob, Witchdoctor, Cool Breeze, Slimm Calhoun, Bubba Sparxx, Sleepy Brown, Rico Wade, Mr. DJ and affiliates sold WOOD with their only group album, ‘Even in Darkness’.  The weird thing is, I have yet to meet anyone who didn’t love this album.  And with cuts like Six Minutes, Follow the Light, Crooked Booty and especially since it came hot off the heels of Stankonia’s destruction, I can’t figure out why this didn’t get a bigger push.  Check out EVERYONE molest this track……..grab your ticket….

3.  Kardinal Offishall Feat. IRS & Jully Black – Ol’ Time Killin’

After 3 years of being on Canadian college radio, it’s programmed in my blood to include Cancon (Governement regulated Canadian Content).  And well, I’ll be the first to admit that sometimes it was a struggle to find Canadian tunes that were air worthy, this one here will tear down any club in Toronto for good reason.  Directed by Brampton-native and Hype Williams protege, Lil X….this is that stuff….

4.  Master P feat. Fiend, Silkk the Shocker, Mia X & Mystikal – Make’em Say Ungh

This song belongs in the dictionary as the third definition for Contemporary Southern American Urban Music.  Just try NOT punching someone in the face while you listen to this…I couldn’t do it.  Sorry Charles.

5.  B-Real, Coolio, Method Man, LL Cool J & Busta Rhymes – Hit’em High

There were so many options for this last spot, but I picked this song strictly for nostalgic reasons (plus  Flava In Ya Ear is still played regularly on MTV).

I love this song.

*BONUS VID*

The Luniz Feat. Dru Down, Shock G, Spice 1, E-40, Richie Rich & Cap’n Sav’em – I Got 5 On It (Remix)

Not a 5 man posse cut but a classic nonetheless, plus it’s the title of this post and the only way I could get the West properly represented.

WEST UUUUUP!

The Party’s in 5 days.  Hit us up for your discount cards NOW!
Facebookers Click Here.

Triple.

