…is one of my favorite songs. A good friend of mine gave me a Best of Otis Redding double LP for my birthday one year. It happened to be the same year that I left Canada for a teaching job in South Korea. ‘Change is gonna come’ was a very inspirational song for me back then, I was looking for a big change to occur and I got one of the biggest changes in my life.

Anyways I keep hoping for some change to occur in the club scene out here in Taipei. Im about to editorialize a little bit. Where doe’s a person who actually loves music go to hear something outside of the usual playlist in Taipei clubs???

I’m a little bit spoiled because I’m from Toronto, we get good international DJ’s on the regular and the local DJ’s are awesome and really competitive. Not competitive in terms of cutting and scratching competitive, but more in terms of ‘I got some shit that’s gonna blow your mind musically’ competitive.

I feel like i’ve been to every club in this city and i’ve yet to see a local DJ blow my mind in terms of his selection. One local has come close, DJ Chicano, but he doesnt play out regularly and he only plays vinyl, so I’m waiting for him to make the changeover to serato.

Some of the craziest parties I’ve witnessed have been watching ?uestlove(from the Roots) DJ in Toronto and seeing the whole crowd go crazy to every song he was playing, from soul to r&b to hiphop to funk and beyond. I remember he played ‘seven nation army’ that night. That song had just come out, and that moment was probably the highlight of the night for me, watching a room full of people getting wild to this rock song. Then seeing Jay Dilla absolutely murder a club in TO, bottles broke, it was crazy. Watching Keb Darge murdering Soul 45’s in a dancehall style was awesome, and the crowd reaction to each song was amazing. Pete Rock, rocking out a concert venue, I know some people got hit in the head that night from arms flying into the air at every song. Listening to Masters at Work (Louis Vega and Kenny Dope) at a waterside venue, playing some ‘quality’ house. Watching Richie Hawtin play a rave in TO was ridiculous.

My point being, people out here equate a crazy party with just getting drunk and spending a lot of money. Popping 3 bottles = crazy party for most. Breaking 3 bottles = crazy party for me. My definition of a crazy party is a little different. It definitely involves good music and a good crowd and I’m no prude, so of course it needs a touch of alcohol. I know Taipei or Asia more specifically (save for Japan) has a young scene, I get that part. But everything grows old and everything must change.

I don’t want to turn this into a personal bitching session, I’m just upset that I went out on a Wednesday night, just for the sake of going out, and the playlist in the clubs hasn’t changed. I heard the same songs that I’ve been hearing(many that I can’t stand) and that upset me. It upset me because the crowd was still dancing to it like it was the shit and it upset me that the DJ was still playing it.

Again, I’m spoiled because I’m from a city that will boo and throw shit at the DJ if he or she sucks. Toronto is known as the ScrewFace capital. Its a tough crowd to get moving. Like I said our local guys are good, so if you come in as a headliner and your not playing better than the locals, you will get boo’d and most likely bottled too. But if a DJ can win over a TO crowd, that DJ will be shown love in a big way, all night. We fight hard, but we play hard too.

Maybe that’s my own fatal flaw, that I crave variety in my life. I can’t go to the same club every week to see the same people(in different clothes) and hear the same music in the same order. I have a girl, and I’m not going to hear new music, so why am I still going out to clubs in Taipei?

Maybe I should just stop going out to Taipei clubs unless a headliner is in town? Maybe someone who knows someone, who knows somebody can tell somebody to try and switch it up and grow the scene a little. Maybe I should drink a nice tall glass of ‘shut the f*#k up!’ and call it a day since:
1.its not my city
2.not my scene and
3.locals dont care what a Wai-guo-ren thinks about it anyways.

Soooo, on this Heaven or Hell Sunday, I give you a little piece of my heaven. Like I was saying, ‘A change is gonna come’ is one of my favorite songs. So I’m gonna give you two versions by two of the greatest voices in Soul Music.

First up Sam Cooke’s version(click pic to download)

samcookehome

2nd up, the Otis Redding version (my fav)click pic.

otis

While we’re on the topic of change, I came across this earlier this week. A man whose face has gone through some MAJOR changes over the years. Michael Jackson. This is the demo version of P.Y.T. and its like a completely different song, but still funky as ever.

michael-jackson-pyt-pretty-young-455702

Sometimes major changes just need a little catalyst, a little something to peak peoples interests. Hopefully Wednesday April 8th when the new Nike 6453 gallery space opens, it will be a catalyst for change on some level. I got some sneak preview pics that I stole off the freshness blog.

nike-6453

nike-03

If you don’t know about Wednesday night, please get familiar. The Commissioner aka Mick Boogie, will be in Taipei City. He will be at the gallery space opening as well as the after party at Primo. Check out his website, and his blog. He knows good music, and he’s worked with all your favorite artists. Trust it.

‘A change is gonna come…..oh yes it is……’

peace

CAP

PS: please feel free to comment

