Since I received my promo copy of ‘In Search of…’ in early 2002, I’ve been an  enormous fan of N*E*R*D*.  Their decision to take what was already a good grouping of beats (unlike their ‘Clones’ showing) and replay them with live instruments only proved to strengthen their musical ideas and ultimately, gave them the freedom to genre jump with ease.

Being a DJ myself, with each album I’ve found that there’s always at least one song that you can play anytime, anywhere, no matter the circumstance because it’s just that good and I know there are a ton of haters out there who’d wanna contest that Pharrell and Chad aren’t really the most technically gifted musicians, and for that you’d be absolutely correct.  Yes, many of their chord progressions are the same, and sure many of their songs end up fitting the same formula, but dammit if it isn’t just lovely to listen to regardless.  Candy for the ears.

Now, after 3 albums of what I consider to be a clear demonstration of growth, work and imagination, N*E*R*D* will be re-entering the public eye with their 4th album Nothing, and we’ve got a couple chunes right here for you to absorb.

Are you a N*E*R*D*?  Hit me up.

N*E*R*D* Feat. NELLY FURTADO – HOT N FUN

N*E*R*D* Feat. SANTIGOLD & FAM-LAY – SOLDIER

